Salt Lake City here I come.

I am starting to get excited about my trip to Rootstech 2017, which takes place in Salt Lake City between February 8th and 11th. This will be my second trip to Rootstech, and I think I will be much better prepared to make the most of my trip. Rootstech hosts an amazing number of workshops (more than 200 over 3 days) and a large exhibition and I have downloaded the app onto my phone to help with my planning of the various workshops I hope to attend. I will be doing a lot of walking around the conference centre, so comfortable shoes are an essential, along with boots, mittens scarf and hat.

I am also looking forward to meeting many of the amazing genealogists I met last year, and to making some new friends. I will be tweeting and blogging about the event too, so you can see what I am getting up to.

You can find out more about Rootstech on the website:https://www.rootstech.org/rootstech-2017

A visit to Salt Lake City is probably on every family historian’s “Bucket List” as we are all probably aware of the amazing resources which have been gathered over the years. The quantity of the resources of the Family History Library is staggering.  According to the website, more than 2.4 million rolls of microfilmed records, almost ¾ million microfiche, more than 350,000 books etc and more than 4.500 periodicals and other electronic resources are available to be researched and at no cost to the researcher. They have records from Europe, North America, Latin America, Asia and Africa, with the majority of records being about individuals who lived pre 1930.

There are lots of people around to help you find what you are seeking, so it is one of the things I am planning to do whilst in Salt Lake. Last year I was able to view the microfilmed records of the Kent parish where ancestors were baptised in 1805. I hope to be able to push the lines back a little further next month.

Leave a Reply

